Advisory Board Members

The Advisory Board provides consultation to N.C. Health Information Exchange Authority on the advancement and operation of NC HealthConnex, the state-designated HIE. The board has eight members appointed by the N.C. General Assembly, in addition to four ex-officio members.


Appointed by the N.C. General Assembly


Dr. William G. Way, Chair

Former Director of Diagnostic Imaging Radiologist, Wake Radiology
Representative of Licensed Physicians


Donette Herring, Vice Chair
Chief Information Officer, Vidant Health

Representative of Critical Access Hospitals


Dr. Neal Chawla
Chief Medical Information Officer, WakeMed
Health System Representative


Dr. Tammy Kiger
Physician, Carolina Family Health Centers

Representative of Federally Qualified Health Centers


Brent Lamm
Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, UNC Health

Individual with Technical Expertise in Health Information Technology


Dr. Richard Pro

Chief Data and Analytics Officer, Cone Health
Representative of Technical Expertise in Data Analytics


Carolyn D. Spence
Chief Information Officer, Alexander Youth Network

Representative of Behavioral Health Providers


Lauren Wiggs
Regional Sales Manager, Ontarget

Patient Representative



Ex-Officio Members


Secretary James A. Weaver

N.C. Department of Information Technology


Secretary Kody Kinsley

N.C. Department of Health and Human Services


Carol Burroughs

Director, Government Data Analytics Center, N.C. Department of Information Technology


Dee Jones

Executive Director, North Carolina State Health Plan


Read About Our Staff and Partners